Home > Virtualization > VHD on eSATA => bad day

VHD on eSATA => bad day

Last night I was working on a bit of SharePoint workflow.  I had dusted of my 32-bit vm, and even though it was running under Windows 7 Virtual PC, it was doing fine.  I had moved it to an external eSATA drive for better performance.

Anyways, shut that puppy down (not hibernate) and off to bed I went.

The next morning I fire her up again while I make coffee.  I noticed the Win7 VPC bar kept restarting.  I forced a turn-off and try again.  This is what I get:

 

image

 

After hours of trying research and discovering way more than i wanted to about domain services, no fix I came across would work.  SO I eventually abandoned it.

It would appear though that having it on an eSATA drive, and whatever (RAID) drivers that were installed because of that totally hosed my vhd.

Categories: Virtualization Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

